The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Meet Charlie

on August 4, 2014

charlie caden

Internets, meet Charlie. He’s the newest member of our household. Adopting has clearly been on my mind for a while, and after talking to a lot of different people we headed over to the humane society to see what bigger dogs they had. The intention was to go back later this week if we found a dog we liked, but I didn’t anticipate just how quickly dogs get adopted there. Our humane society is a destination, meaning they transfer in a lot of animals from all over the country because they have such a high adoption rate.

charlie laney 2

After realizing I wanted a big dog, and that I couldn’t do a puppy, I knew humane society was our best bet. We looked at all the dogs before picking one to take outside. The first dog was crazy hyper, and the second we just didn’t connect with. I had liked Charlie, but a lot of the labs we saw were part of a cruelty case, were super shy, and would need extra tlc I wasn’t sure we could give. But, I read his sheet again and he was just a stray! He immediately warmed to all of us, and actually interacted rather than just running away or peeing. He has such a sweet face, I couldn’t resist.

He’s 10 months old and still has a lot of puppy in him. The difference between a 13-year-old well trained dog and a 10-month-old stray was immediate. He jumped, he tried to grab their food from them, and he mouths everything. But, he is just the sweetest thing. He slept all night in his kennel with only a few cries, and he was an angel at the lake on Sunday. I was worried he would destroy everything in sight, but there’s been no damage.

charlie laney

Delaney is a complete mother hen with him. She takes him for walks, she corrects his behavior, she scratches his belly. Caden is a little afraid because he very quickly invades your personal space (or gnaws on your hand), but I think with some training all will be fine. We’re doing our best to get him exercise and ensure he isn’t bored, while also giving him some space so he learns how to just *be* in our house.

I realize we adopted very quickly after Lucy’s death. One week to be exact. While it’s a very personal decision, I will say that I absolutely hated our house without a dog in it. I didn’t want to come home at night, and once the girls were in bed, I finished up my stuff quickly and just went to bed. I slept awfully on top of everything. Charlie will be an amazing addition to our family, but adding him doesn’t take away any of my grief for Lucy. It’s a good distraction, but it also highlights just how awesome of a dog she was, and makes missing her even more acute. There are times when I am beyond thrilled that we found such an amazing dog to adopt, and other times when I wonder what the hell I got myself into. But, we’re only on day three at this point, and I need to remind myself of that.


7 responses to “Meet Charlie

  1. Kyla says:

    Welcome Charlie!! I’m so glad you found a new someone to love. 🙂

  2. Grammy says:

    As I said yesterday — Charlie, you just won the lottery! He captured my heart immediately.

  3. Bobbi says:

    Congratulations to you all and Charlie as well. Thanks so much for adopting a dog from a facility 🙂

  4. Jill says:

    Welcome Charlie! He looks at home with the girls already!

  5. Denise says:

    Welcome to the Krohn Family, Charlie — you sure are a cute rascal!!

  6. Damita says:

    He is super cute! Congratulations to you all. I am so glad that you found each other and I wish you all the best.

  7. Scott Grunst says:

    What a beautiful dog Erin! Just remember, he isn’t Lucy and he doesn’t want to be. Let him be Charlie, love him to death and he will do the same.

Leave a Reply

