The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Thinking

on July 31, 2014

Since even before Lucy died I’ve been trying to figure out when is a good time to adopt another dog. Now that our house is empty, it’s even more on my mind. I really don’t like not having an animal in the house, but I also don’t want to rush into anything.

I’ve had my eye on a small pekingese with a rescue organization. She’s had a rough life, which makes me want to give her a really loving home. But I worry that she’s not a cat, and she’s not a big dog like Lu, and that somehow we just won’t connect with her.

I had zero plans of adopting a golden retriever puppy this summer and yet, an ad popped up for a litter on a local website I frequent. With golden’s it can be hard to find puppies with a good pedigree and good health. This litter had both, plus they are blondies. It seemed kind of like a sign? Like Lucy pointing me towards this. And yet a puppy, that’s a lotta lotta.

I reached out to a few people I trust and got some excellent advice. In the end though, it’s something we have to figure out on our own. Right now, I’m leaning towards no to the puppy. Delaney is running a fever right now and even dealing with that feels like a lot at this moment. I’m hoping we can meet the small dog, but I also know if we meet her, the girls will want to come home with her. Perhaps we’ll end up waiting there too.

Any advice internets?


4 responses to “Thinking

  1. A friend of mine had to unexpectedly put her sweet girl down a few months back, and she was in the same position you are. She knew she wanted to adopt another dog, but wasn’t sure when was the right time. Then Sydney (a one-year-old golden!) fell into her lap through a connection with a friend of a friend of a breeder, and two days later she brought her home for a test run. It worked out perfectly and she’s thrilled with her new dog — and she felt the same way you did, like her Molly had been pointing her towards this new dog. In the end, you have to do what feels right for you, but I see nothing wrong with adopting a new pet right away. (Puppies are a LOT of work, though — I don’t need to tell you that!) If you’re interested in a golden that’s not necessarily a puppy, I can put some feelers out through my friend, if you want. Good luck! ❤

  2. Laura Case says:

    So…. as someone who just adopted a dog, I will say that getting a new dog is a lot of work, even not a puppy. We got an AWESOME dog but we are still spending a lot of time going to obedience classes, working on training her both in and outside the home. It’s a daily commitment to train a new pet, and it’s been a lot to train the boys how to deal with her as well.

    And we have the issue of submissive peeing, which is similar to house training. We have cleaned up SO MUCH PEE. And dog pee can’t sit around, so we just have to be ready all the time to clean up pee if she decides we are being too dominant.

    A new pet also brings new chaos – we’ve had to basically puppy proof the entire house. Since she’s part lab, she loves to chew on things, so everything from waist down has had to be put away. You know all of this, obviously, but with the time crunch of school and jobs and activities, I would say go into it with eyes wide open that it is a new family member who is going to have a lot of energy and will need a LOT of work.

  3. Amanda says:

    I have been in absolute work hell and have barely seen the Internet in weeks, so have just caught up on this. I cannot imagine what you’ve been going through, but please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help.

    You definitely have to do what feels right to you, but I am so, so, so much more cautious with pets having gone through all the stuff with Huck and Claire this year. It was one of the hardest situations I’ve had to overcome, and it shows how unpredictable things can be. Bringing a new animal into the home – even one who’s had a family and behaved well – doesn’t meant it will fit seamlessly into your family. There are so many “what ifs” to consider.

    Recently we talked about wanting a new kind of life, a new pace and new priorities, and how hard it is to even carve out time to THINK about it, much less how to PLAN for it and MAKE IT HAPPEN. This feels like a great opportunity to map out that future, before adding one more thing that steals mindshare from it. Of course, I say this knowing full well that my two dogs and cat are aging at roughly the same pace and that one day I could be in your shoes, and my very first instinct will be to go out and adopt All The Dogs. So. My advice is from a privileged perspective, maybe not a realistic one.

  4. Jill says:

    We lost our cat a few weeks back and our dog is showing her age, so I’ve been thinking about this as well. As much as I’d love another dog, I’m worried about the time and commitment of integrating a new pet, even a house trained youngish pet into our lives. We have so much traveling we want to do also and I hate boarding etc.

    Anyway, just a few thoughts that have been rolling around here. Good luck with your decision!

Leave a Reply

