The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Kindergarten Complete

on June 11, 2014

Today is the last day of kindergarten! This year flew by. I swear I blinked and it was Christmas, blinked again and it was June.

I’ll be honest. Last fall I was worried that my kids would be bored in kindergarten. They already knew their letters and numbers and could read a few sight words, surely they wouldn’t learn much new right? Boy was I wrong. Their handwriting has gotten so much better. They are reading like crazy kids. And I love how they sound out words when they are writing!

Beyond that, their International Baccalaureate curriculum has taught them so many new things. I can’t recommend IB schools enough. It’s crazy to me all the things they’ve learned just this year! And even with all of that, they had plenty of choice time to explore and play with whatever they wanted to in their classroom.

We were blessed this year with two amazing teachers that really got my kids, and with really great friends in their kindergarten classes. Both girls found best friends that they really clicked with, and that makes such a difference. For Delaney especially, it really seems to ground her and keep any day to day anxiety at bay. Caden’s teacher is moving to first grade, so Caden’s class will move with her. I could not be more happy about that! Delaney and her BFF will be together again next year, with a teacher I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about. Again, super thrilled!

Unfortunately, the end of school means that we are losing our favorite babysitter. She will be making some job changes this summer, so won’t be with us next fall. Amy came to our house Mondays and Tuesdays to get the girls off the bus, but we’ve all talked and agreed that this routine works best for everyone. The girls liked riding the bus and coming home to one on one attention, and I prefer the commute to our house as well. On top of that, I realized that I didn’t use Kid’s Place for the non-school days like I thought I would (too expensive!) so there’s no reason to enroll them. I thought the girls might miss their friends or teachers, or even all the activities there, but they’re adamant they would rather just come home so we’re going with it. I’m on the hunt for someone who could come to our house every day to get them off the bus, and who could also stay with them if I have to travel out of town. If you know anyone, please let me know! I love our daycare babysitters, but I’ve realized their hours don’t necessarily work with the hours I need now that the girls are in school. Ideally it would be someone college age who lives on our side of town who could be with us for a few years.


Leave a Reply

