The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

No Snacking

on June 5, 2014

Before I read the book, I thought the Whole30 was all about what foods you couldn’t eat. That is definitely only part of it. They also focus on eating three meals a day, with no snacks in between. The point being that your meals satisfy you enough that you aren’t hungry or tempted to snack. This is kind of a new thing for me. You always hear about eating six small meals a day as being the healthiest, but I’m amazed at how focusing on protein, vegetables, and healthy fats has kept me more than full. And I’m losing weight! Yesterday I wore a pair of capris that just last weekend clearly didn’t fit me.

This is definitely one of the things I’ll take forward with me. So often I would throw together a dinner that wasn’t enough food. After the girls went to bed I’d have a bowl of cereal or toast (always carby snacks, never protein snacks either). My blood sugar and my mood are much more even throughout the day now too. No more afternoon slump! I’m loving it.

The other thing I’ll take forward with me is the meal planning and prep. I’ve always meal planned, but only dinner and only the main part of dinner. Having all 21 meals planned out with vegetables has allowed me to look ahead to my week and see what I can prepare ahead of time. Last night we had roasted chicken thighs with broccoli, and I reheated the carrot/parsnip/cauliflower puree I made on Sunday. It was an easy, super tasty dinner that everyone loved! Normally I may have had the chicken planned, but definitely wouldn’t have known what to do for vegetables, so probably would have just heated up some corn or something.

So far, I have felt great. I haven’t had any of the hangover, detox flu, or anger that others have reported. I was worried it would be a rough first week, but it’s been business as usual. Someone on the June 1 support forum said sometimes our bodies are ready for change. Let’s hope mine was ready for change, and not that it’s going to kick my ass just when I’m starting to feel confident with this!


Leave a Reply

