The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

You’re doing what?

on June 2, 2014

On Saturday we had Delaney’s friend over for a playdate. When her mom came back to pick her up, we chatted for a while. We talked about working out and losing weight, so I told her that on Sunday I was starting a Whole30. That I wouldn’t be eating dairy, grains, sugar, alcohol, soy, or legumes for 30 days. She tilted her head and looked at me like “You’re doing what?!”

I get it. I really do. This seems like a really extreme, really hard thing to do. I watched others and researched this for well over a year before deciding not only was I ready, but I needed to do it.

Over the last few weeks I feel like I’ve had the “I have no idea how you do it as a single mom!” conversation with at least 10 people. The short answer to that question is that you just get it done because you have to, but the reality of that is that sometimes you’re left more than a little battered and bruised, and that’s where I find myself right now.

I’m tired. I’m not sleeping well. Despite eating gluten free, I still occasionally get weird digestive issues, which I’d really like to be rid of. I would also like to kickstart some weight loss. As I get older, it gets harder and harder to lose the weight and honestly, I have some cute capri jeans I want to wear this summer.

In the book It Starts With Food, they talk about the Whole30 as being a science experiment of one. You remove all of the foods that could adversely affect you for 30 days, then slowly reintroduce them to see what affects you and what doesn’t. They recommend making goals around other areas of your life as well, which I hadn’t thought of, but am embracing.

For 30 days, I’m going to concentrate on me. No I’m not going to neglect my kids or send them to my parent’s house, but I am going to step away from some of my routines, or start new ones to see what affects me adversely and what doesn’t. I’m going to eat three meals a day, no snacks, and I’m going to figure out what energizes me and what drains me.

Every night I put the girls to bed, then head downstairs. I spend an hour or so on the computer, then watch a show, then head upstairs where I somehow kill another hour or more. When it comes to getting to bed on time I am a complete self sabotager. (how the hell do you spell that?) I will watch the news, empty the dishwasher, play another round of candy crush, all knowing what I really need to do is go to sleep! I’m hoping to spend a little less time on the computer, or bring my computer upstairs so I can hang out on the screen porch and enjoy the evening a bit. Less tv, but also less phone. I’m making it a priority to get 8 hours of sleep, so that I can get up every morning and do my T25.

More than anything, I want to find things that I can carry forward beyond June. Little habits and bigger ones. For the Whole30 I’m making a lot of things I previously bought. Will I continue making my own mayo? Probably yes, it was super easy. But my own breakfast sausage? Not likely. But I’ll gladly make it so I have a sugar free option for June. I’m hoping to find some new dinners and vegetables that we all like, and am committing to trying new foods and new flavors. I’d like to find some bulk prep things that will stick, as well as some easy lunches that I won’t get sick of.

I know many don’t want to read a journal of my daily meals, but I do want to track things so I’m going to have one weekly post that starts each Sunday and I’ll continue to update that. I think I can make a link on the sidebar to see those posts easily, just have to figure that out.

So. Here we go?


4 responses to “You’re doing what?

  1. Grammy says:

    I will be your #1 cheerleader! You have the dedication and drive to follow this through. Applause, applause. So happy there are no family food holidays for the next 30 days:)

  2. Amy says:

    You can and will totally nail this! Let me know if / how I can help. 🙂 (Will need lots of detoxing after wedding / wedding / honeymoon / wedding / wedding. Oy.)

  3. You can do it!! I just completed my Whole30 last week, and I’m feeling great!! I sleep better than I ever have in my entire life, so that alone was worth it. AND, I lost 15 lbs!! So hang in there, and good luck!!

  4. Amanda says:

    I was really inspired by this lunch article from Bon Appetit: http://www.bonappetit.com/test-kitchen/cooking-tips/article/lunch-al-desko. There’s definitely some things that won’t work with Whole30, but they provide a mix-and-match section to help you build tasty lunches! When I get a kitchen back, I’m going to get ON IT.

Leave a Reply

