The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Rejuvenating Weekend

on May 19, 2014

Last week was kind of rough. I was hormonal, the kids were sick, we were stuck at home for five days, and it was cloudy and rainy. I was going bonkers by Friday. Oh wait, I forgot to update last Friday’s post! Remember when I said both kids were going to school? Yeah. I ate those words around 5:00am when Delaney climbed in bed with me and from the heat coming off her body, I guessed her temp at 101. I dragged her into work with me for a few hours and even got her a fancy hot dog from the food trucks. I paid for all of that once we were home where she took a nap, and woke up with a 102.7 fever. Woo.

Anyway, Saturday morning we woke up, the sun was shining, and everyone’s fevers were gone! The weather was absolutely perfect this weekend, which in turn made us super productive.

flowers 1

Saturday was a little crazy. First, it was my birthday, which I completely forgot about until I checked the weather on my phone and saw Facebook notices. Second, we had a jam packed day planned. Bridal shower in the morning, dance pictures, then the planting of the flowers. It was so warm Caden needed an outfit change.

flowers 2

We have this down to a science now, so it only takes a few hours. Last fall I dumped the dirt by the shed, so I didn’t have to schlep to the back of the yard this time which helped as well. The girls weren’t as into it this year, although I’m not sure if they were fully recovered. Either way, my mom and I strategized and in the end, we were only one gerbera daisy short.

Post birthday cake, the girls went to a birthday party and my parents and I changed clothes and headed out for a birthday dinner. My neighbor and I had been chatting about me buying his house in a few years, but he’s going to stay for the long haul now, so dinner conversation consisted of throwing around remodeling ideas and me showing them things I’ve pinned over the years. A possible plan is coming together which is actually feasible, I just need a little more expert advice.

I love celebrating birthdays, but I always have trouble figuring out what I want to do for mine. This day was exactly it. Quiet celebration spent with my favorite people. (For any local gf people, I picked up a cake from Bittersweet Bakery and it was super tasty. Highly recommend.)

Sunday was more perfection (thanks grandma, I know that was your doing). We slept in, hit the Farmer’s Market, grabbed groceries, planted the last flowers, tilled and planted the garden, cleaned out the car, read books on the deck, ate an amazing dinner on the screen porch, and went for a bike ride. If the pool had been open we probably would have fit that in too! I had a smile on my face the entire day.


One response to “Rejuvenating Weekend

  1. Amanda says:

    If you have time for a belated birthday lunch this week let me know! It’s my turn to come down your way, and my calendar is blissfully open Wed, Thu AND Friday! It’s a springtime miracle! Maybe the patio will be open at the Irish place?

Leave a Reply

