The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

T25 week 5

on May 13, 2014

Last time I posted about my execise routine, I was in week two. Now I’m in week 5 of T25. This is the last week of the Alpha DVD’s, which are the foundation of the rest of the moves. Next week I start the Beta DVD’s and I’m a little nervous! I’m feeling stronger definitely, but I’m hoping I’m ready to take the next step.

So how is it going? Really well, but I’ve definitely had to make some modifications to things. The exercises they do in T25 are no joke. In the beginning I was trying to do everything full out as long as I could before modifying the moves. Week 3 my knees really started aching, so I’ve been doing a lot more modifications since then. All of the jumping also hurts my high arches, so I’m careful there as well. I’ve found that if I make some strategic modifications every time, I can stay strong through the whole workout.

I’m also taking rest days when my body is exhausted. During week 3 the loss of that hour of sleep each day really started catching up to me. I’m getting up an hour earlier, but not getting to bed an hour earlier. I’ve been making an effort to get to bed when I need to, but also skipping a workout here and there. I’m still seeing great results, so the rest is working.

I’ve only lost a few pounds, but I can definitely tell I’m losing fat and gaining muscle. There are moves I couldn’t do at the beginning of this (oblique knee push ups!) that I can now do at least a few of. I’m also not ready to die at the end of each workout which is a nice change of pace. The biggest change? I lost the side boob fat. During the Lululemon sale I bought a running tank top with built-in sports bra. When I tried it on at home it looked awful. The neckline cuts in almost like a halter and my fat bulged out everywhere. But guess what? I put that tank on last week when all of my other sports bras were in the wash and it not only fits, but it looks normal! I was amazed.

Overall, I’ve lost 2″ in my chest, 3.5″ in my waist, 1″ in my hips, 2″ in my arms, and 1.5″ in my thighs. I’ll admit, somewhere in week 3 I really wasn’t feeling any motivation. It was really hard to get up and I wanted to go back to running once or twice a week. I’m so glad I stuck this out. I still have a ways to go, but seeing how much I’ve lost has really kicked things into gear for me. I’m hoping that the Whole30 will take things to the next level for me in June!


4 responses to “T25 week 5

  1. Grammy says:

    So happy to hear you have found an exercise routine that is working for you. I can see it in your smile:)

  2. Jenny says:

    I’m in week 6 – week 1 of the beta… i’m pretty sure i’m going to die. I’m trying to maintain weight, but i have found that it is getting easier, so i must be getting stronger!

  3. Amy says:

    The first time through any of the new DVDs is rough, so don’t get down with yourself if you don’t nail them all next week! Speed 2.0 is my favorite of all of them, though – can’t wait to hear what you think.

    Congrats on your amazing progress!!!

Leave a Reply

