The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Mother’s Day!

on May 12, 2014

Apologies in advance, but this is going to be the only in focus picture you see here but I’m posting the blurry pics anyway.

Photo (6)

The girls have very distinct ideas about what they want to get me and my mom for Mother’s Day. They picked out gerbera daisy’s for my mom, and then schemed with my mom to pick out the lily above. Caden found it immediately and then kept hiding it behind her back. It was adorable how she tried to keep it a secret.

We headed down to my parent’s house Saturday morning. They’re redoing their deck, which gave the girls plenty of jobs to help out with. Me? I headed to the salon to get a hair cut (Caden got one too! Her hair is so short and chic again.) When I got back my mom and I went to a local winery that I’ve been dying to try. My mom and I rarely get to spend time just the two of us, so it was nice to have that time to taste and talk. And the wines were really good!

family 1

Before we headed out Sunday morning, we did some family pictures. The girls took most of these and I’m bummed they’re blurry, but you can tell who everyone is so I’m calling it a win.

family 2

Sunday morning everyone slept in a bit, then we headed out for brunch. Super yummy food! Although I’m happy I don’t travel anymore because I could not stay away from those hotel waffles. The smell alone from across the table was intoxicating!

family 3

May is always packed with so many things, so we headed out to the garden centers to pick out flowers and herbs. This is utterly and completely Caden’s element, so I usually just stand back and let her go. The weather is iffy this week, but we still planted our herbs. She just couldn’t wait.

By Sunday evening we were all exhausted, but it was a really great weekend. It’s always nice for the girls to spend time with my parents, and for all of us to spend time together. Watching my girls help my dad drill holes and do whatever else he gets them to do always reminds me of my childhood. So fun.


One response to “Mother’s Day!

  1. Grammy says:

    Lots of whispers and secrets to pull off this BIG surprise gift. We have to work on the breakfast in bed next year. What a beautiful weekend to celebrate being a mom and grammy.

Leave a Reply

