The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

This age

on May 6, 2014

I’m always working on something with the girls. Right now it’s a lot about pitching in around the house. Remembering to hang up their coat, their backpack. Putting away their shoes. Dishes into the dishwasher. Those things though repetitive, are easy.

We’re also working on attitudes. There’s something about this age and the need to want everything, and then to brag about everything you have to your friends. I hear it everywhere, at gymnastics “I have an iPad, an iPod, a Kindle Fire, and a laptop”. UGH. It’s like nails on a chalkboard to me. And it makes me want to take away all of their stuff, just to show them they can live just fine without it.

So we are working very hard right now on being humble, on being grateful for what we have, and on recognizing how our words affect others. It’s hard, because I think I have two pretty good kids, and keeping this attitude in check makes me feel like the strictest parent in the world. But you know what? I don’t want my kids to be assholes. And I don’t want them to be greedy little shits. So we’ll all put in the work to ensure they are anything but that.


Leave a Reply

