The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Still the weekend

on April 30, 2014

My plan for the weekend was to get out and do some things on Saturday, and make Sunday a day of cooking and painting since it would be rainy and gross. Saturday we hit our last play at Stages (3 little pigs, I thought it was boring) then grabbed a quick snack before heading to a kite event at the park. We met up with Delaney’s BFF and her mom and thank goodness we did. I thought they were handing out kites and would have kites for you to fly but no, you had to bring your own. And we didn’t have any. But her friend had two so we took turns. It was a very windy day which was great for flying kites, but bad for our ears.

photo 1 (1)

How awesome is this kite? A unicorn *and* a rainbow? Clearly everyone else was jealous of our super cool kite.

photo 2 (1)

I have no idea how, but Caden got tangled up in her kite string and sliced her neck. After that accident, we all headed home.

Saturday I roasted a whole chicken for dinner. I haven’t done that in a while because it’s a lot of work, but Caden has been asking for chicken noodle soup, so I figured I’d do it from scratch. I used the bones to make chicken broth overnight in the slow cooker (so easy!) and then made homemade gluten free chicken noodle soup for us for dinner on Sunday. It was so good! Everyone loved it and there’s enough for Caden to use for her lunches this week. I will definitely do that again. I also made mashed potatoes because that was their request for the new food this week. Last week was hummus and that was surprisingly a huge hit! Mashed potatoes aren’t something that will likely happen regularly at our house, but they were so good about the hummus I figured why not.

I also painted the four doors that needed to be white. I’m so happy to have that task completed! Two of the doors were cream, one was brown, and one was a dingy white. It looks so much better having them all nice and white now. All of the painting is done except for a few bits on the windows, and the baseboard in the girls’ room. Thank goodness.


Leave a Reply

