The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Tiny Bits

on February 27, 2014

* At work we are in the final testing stages, so we do a lot of testing with all four of us in a room. I wouldn’t want to be locked in a room for 8 hours with my coworkers every day, but we’ve been having fun with it. Anyway, obviously one of our major topics of conversation is the $#@!% weather. Yesterday I said “I decided last night that never again will I skip a warm weather vacation.” Everyone immediately said YES, one coworker said he and his wife made the same pact the night before. Normally, we’d be heading down to Florida next week, but we all said to really keep your sanity, you need to hit the warm weather sometime in February or even January. Our spring break for school is always the last week in March, first week in April which is too late. Next year we have a trip booked to Mexico in January, perhaps MLK weekend will become our new tradition?

* For our spring break this year we’re doing a staycation! Yay. I’m trying to think of some fun things to do, while also knocking out some projects around the house. I’ll be doing a ton of painting (I’m painting the living, dining, and kitchen grey, and redoing the off white trim to white), but we also want to get out and about. I’m hoping that the weather is decent enough, but it shouldn’t matter. So far on our list is the zoo and a waterpark. Last night Delaney asked to hit a museum. I’m thinking the science museum? eta: Just got an email saying that the girls’ elementary school is sponsoring a free night at the science museum in April. Maybe we hit an art museum instead?

* Sunday night we went to the ballet recital for the girls’ dance school. They weren’t dancing in it, but I thought it would be good for them to see it, and I wanted to see how serious the ballet school was. It went too late, but beyond that was a really nice way to end an emotional weekend. The dances were fabulous, and the girls really enjoyed watching the big girls.

* My mom and I bought the same two puzzles for the girls for the birthday, so I’m returning mine. The only problem is that I have zero ideas for another birthday present for them. This morning I asked for some ideas and they both asked for stuffies. I am loathe to add yet another stuffed animal to our repertoire, but I’m hoping that being able to store their other stuffed animals in these things will prove beneficial. Of course the only place near us that carries them is a hardware store, but it’s close so I can hit it tomorrow on the way to work.

* Their birthday shirts look AWESOME. But, I need decent light to get some good photographs of them, so that will likely have to wait until after the weekend.


2 responses to “Tiny Bits

  1. Amanda says:

    I want to go to the Minnesota history museum, since I know next to nothing about Minnesota! One of my co-workers says his kids love it. Want to have a weekend outing soon? The weather has me feeling murderous. We, also, made a pact about a January warm-weather vacation next year.

  2. Erin says:

    Yes absolutely! Maybe March 9 or 16? I feel like we should arrange a tour of the capitol for you, since that is a field trip every Minnesota elementary kid does, but that will have to wait until the remodeling is complete.

Leave a Reply

