The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Madison

on February 24, 2014

i-bDhSjbw

Oh it is so hard to write this post. But so many loved her, it’s a post I must write.

Maddy has been sick since last summer. I lanced her tumor at home Tuesday evening. Wednesday Maddy was noticeably quieter. Thursday I became worried. Friday I called the vet.

I think her tumor became infected, but it could have been that the release of that pressure was more than her body could handle. Either way, she was in serious pain and was no longer eating or drinking. We spent Friday snuggling her and ensuring she was comfortable, then brought her into the vet.

oct 22

The girls thought it would be fine, that she would get better, but I knew this was it. The vet confirmed we had done all we could do and left us to say our goodbyes. We all broke down in tears and did our best to ensure Maddy knew how much we loved her.

p2112357

Maddy was a stray when I found her hanging out on the patio of the restaurant I worked at. She was so incredibly happy to have a house to live in, and food provided for her, that she was the most loving cat in the world. She wasn’t like other cats who demanded attention, or hid under the bed when people came over. She was friendly and sweet, and was happy to have a lap to sit in. And sooner or later, she knew you wouldn’t be able to resist her, and you’d start petting her and wouldn’t you know it? That’s exactly what she wanted.

I am not handling this well at all. I miss her so much, my heart is broken, absolutely broken. She was part of our family for 17 years, that’s almost half my life! And then to watch her relationship with the girls? Especially Delaney? I feel like part of me is missing. On top of that, I keep replaying Friday afternoon over and over in my head. I’m sorry Maddy. I’m so, so sorry.


9 responses to “Madison

  1. Kyla says:

    Oh, Erin. I’m so, so sorry.

  2. Grammy says:

    Beautiful tribute.

  3. Mita says:

    Erin, I am so sorry to hear this. Hugs to you and the girls.

  4. Melissa Donley says:

    Seems there is nothing I can say to reach you, anymore.
    But this isn’t about a friendship, that got mis-place over time.
    This is for the girls~ Becoming a vet tech almost leveled me.
    This is where I found solace…
    ( if you remember anything about me, you’ll remember unconditional Love for Animals)
    ~ The Rainbow Bridge ~
    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.
    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    Author unknown…

  5. Oh Erin, I am so sorry to hear this news. Thinking of you and your girls.

  6. Bobbi says:

    So very sorry for you all Erin-your Maddy will be waiting for you at the Rainbow Bridge

  7. Sue says:

    You and the girls loved her to the moon and back…….. you did all you could, but it still hurts. I know.

  8. Denise says:

    My heart hurts for you – I know the depth of love for a pet – and the depth of hurt when we lose them. Take care.

  9. […] may sound weird, but it was like she was Madison, but in dog form. She was super chill, happy to sit in your lap or arms, and let Delaney carry her […]

Leave a Reply

