The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Keep on Trying

on February 18, 2014

Every week I think about posting our weekly menu plan, and every week it’s either completely uninspired basic stuff, or it’s recipes we haven’t tried yet. I’ve thought about posting at the end of the week so I can include which recipes we liked, but lately we haven’t been liking anything new we’ve tried. And by we, I mostly mean me. The girls are very wary of any new food right now. My only hope of getting nutritional vegetables in them beyond edamame is through juicing.

Everywhere I look there is a new spaghetti squash recipe. I’ve pinned a few recently since squash is perfect for winter, and it’s a vegetable I love (and would love for the girls to love). I will say, I don’t use spaghetti squash as a pasta alternative. It’s really more like another starch, something to put sauce on, for us. If I want a pasta alternative, I’ll either do zucchini noodles, or a corn based pasta.

The girls vaguely like spinach. I say vaguely, because they request it in juices and smoothies, and will eat it plain dipped in ranch. I’m trying to woo them to the cooked spinach side, but it hasn’t gone well. I tried this Baked Spaghetti Squash and Cheese recipe because it has a cheese sauce, and barely cooked spinach in it. I thought perhaps this recipe had a chance with the girls. I’ve also tried several recipes from this blogger and they are always well written, and tasty. That is not the case with all internet recipes.

I made it on Monday, when I was home all day and had the time to roast the squash, etc. If you want it during the week, you’d need to prep everything ahead of time and just bake it. I didn’t really read the recipe, and didn’t realize until I was eyeing up the sauce and the squash that I was supposed to have roasted two squash, not one. Oh well. Ours was a little saucy.

The verdict? It’s a good side dish? I really want to find some great meat free dishes and I thought this might be one. Maybe with more squash it would have been a more substantial dish, but as it was, well, I ate a bowl of cereal before I went to bed. The girls both tried it, but that was the extent of it. Luckily, I reheated some pizza for them so they had something to eat.

I will likely make this again, but as a side dish rather than a main dish. As I ate, I couldn’t help but think how amazing chicken would taste with it.


One response to “Keep on Trying

  1. Amanda says:

    I’ve been making a lot of things from the Mom Advice. Her recipes are simple, tasty, and as a bonus – she’s recently gone gluten free! Everything so far has been passable to Claire, which is a big deal in our house.

Leave a Reply

