The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Growing and Anxiety

on February 3, 2014

The days lately have been … interesting. A rollercoaster of emotions best describes them. Delaney has been very weepy. So, so many tears. About everything and nothing. Caden eats two bites of food and walks away. Everyone has been sleeping in until 8:30am, and is exhausted by 4:00pm.

I don’t know what to make of it.

I just measured the girls on their growth chart last week, but Caden went in and had Delaney measure her yesterday. Somehow, despite not eating!, she’s grown 1/4″. It could certainly be a measuring discrepancy, but she said she could feel her legs growing. I think we all remember that feeling yes?

Is that also why her legs never stop moving? They can’t just sit on the couch, it’s a constant squirm and wiggle and movement.

Yesterday we were supposed to go to a Super Bowl party. We’d been talking about it for a week, so the girls knew about it. We’ve been to this party three times before? They know some of the people that would be there, but not all. It’s mostly adults, but there are a few kids and they always have fun together.

In the morning Delaney said she didn’t want to go. In the afternoon she said she didn’t want to go. We talked about who we would see, that there would be pizza, that they could take a movie. She seemed really nervous about it. Ten minutes before we were going to leave, she said her stomach hurt, she wasn’t feeling good, and she really didn’t want to go to the party.

I sent my regrets to our friends and we stayed home. If it was making her sick, it didn’t seem worth the battle.

I wondered if I did the right thing though. I’m an introvert so I get it, but I also know that once I’m there, I always have fun. My guess is that they would have been running around with the pack of kids within 30 minutes. She’s been so weepy lately, I knew today wasn’t the day to push her. Hopefully this is a short phase!


Leave a Reply

