The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Midway Point – No Spend January

on January 22, 2014

So we’re a little more than halfway through January, so I thought I would check in on how No Spend January is going.

Different than expected.

The truth is, I’ve spent more than usual on groceries, but we also aren’t going out to dinner, and I’ve been bringing my lunches, so it’s expected. I also didn’t have much of a stockpile at home, so the groceries have been necessary. I’ve maybe fallen under the spell of strawberries and blueberries at Costco, and so we’ve spent more on fruit than strictly necessary.

I’ve also bought a few sweaters. I know! But, I realized that my wardrobe was off, and maybe I watched too much Project Runway. Either way, they were totally necessary.

The good? We’ve only been in Target once, and it was for groceries. (Okay twice, but the other time was so the girls could spend their allowance money. My mom couldn’t handle watching Caden count out her dollah bills, and swooped in and threw down her credit card. Delaney declared “It’s like it was free!”) Target eats a lot of my money, and simply by staying out of that store, I have easily kept $100 in my pocket.

The other thing that has helped? The cold! I don’t even want to go out to dinner in this cold! We’ve stayed home, eaten our own food, and played with the toys we have. It’s been good.

Overall, I’m happy with where we are. With the holidays, I always feel like I’m spending money at every turn. This month, I haven’t felt that way at all. The girls are well aware of No Spend January, and have mostly stopped asking me to buy them things. I feel like I’m evaluating things a little more before buying, and trying to make do with what we have, which really is the attitude I’m going for all year long. I’m hoping that attitude sticks around past January.


Leave a Reply

