The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Monday?

on December 23, 2013

Let the winter break officially start!  Even though Caden’s started last Thursday.

When Caden broke her collar bone last week I knew that she would not be able to sled or ice skate or play outside.  What didn’t occur to me is how she wouldn’t be able to dress herself, go to the bathroom, get in and out of bed, put socks and shoes on, get in and out of the car, or get buckled in.  It’s definitely been an exhausting few days for everyone.

Thursday and Friday she actually did fairly well.  But, Laney was at school and I was working, so most of her time was spent resting on the couch.  She’s watched A LOT of tv in the last four days, but there isn’t much we can do about that.  Friday evening we were out and about, and she was definitely sore Saturday  morning.  Enough so that I was texting around to friends and neighbors to find somewhere she could hang out while I ran errands.  She ended up at the neighbors which was great!  Except she overdid it and paid for it Sunday.   I continue to be happier and happier that she doesn’t have to go to school today.  I just have no idea how we would handle that.  She’s still on ibuprofen throughout the day, as well as ice packs every four hours or so.

At first, Delaney was very intent that she was going to be Caden’s helper and was awesome about helping her get socks on and things like that.  Somewhere around Saturday she was totally over it, and demanding attention by being rude and sassy.  I need to carve out some one on one time with her over the holidays.

I also realized we needed to readjust our NYE plans.   We’re invited to a neighborhood party, but we went last year and it’s super chaotic.  Perfect for an NYE party with kids and adults, but not so perfect when you’re trying to protect a broken collar bone.  I’m thinking we’ll fondue at home, make popcorn drizzled with chocolate and m&m’s, and watch a movie together.  Lower key than I’d like, but probably the NYE we need.  I did buy a big ol’ bottle of the really good champagne though.  So I will get to do a little celebrating, even if I’m the only one drinking!


Leave a comment