The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Gluten Free Caden

on November 19, 2013

Even after healing from the strep throat, Caden has continued to complain that her stomach hurts. I had really hoped we wouldn’t need to go down the elimination diet route, but here we are. We’ve talked a lot about going gluten free, and since they are so used to me eating gluten free, she was very open to it.

Here’s the thing. It’s one thing for me to go gluten free. I like salads and almonds and don’t need bread or pasta. But a kid? Ugh. They like macaroni and cheese and pb&j sandwiches, and while you can still do those gluten free, it just doesn’t taste the same.

I have kept this low stress. I bought gluten free pretzels and hard boiled some eggs for her lunches. She has a fairly good understanding of what has gluten in it and what doesn’t, and we talked through her school day and what she would do for each snack. If she eats gluten, she eats gluten, but I also want to set her up for success by providing her with decent alternatives. I’ve also decided to move our dinners back to being entirely gluten free. Even if she ends up being okay with gluten, I think that’s a healthier way of eating for our family.

This weekend she did okay. She was mostly gluten free both Saturday and Sunday. When I could completely control her food choices she was fine, but when we were out and about all the options contained gluten and that’s what she went with. (Obviously if this is a long term thing, I will have to do a lot more planning when we are away from home.)

Day 1 at school also went fine. She had gluten free pretzels for her snack in her classroom, and at after care she had an apple. But when we got home she was tired and exhausted and asked for an Eggo waffle. I offered a gluten free waffle and she just lost it. Cried and cried. I get it, when you’re tired you want what you want, whether it’s good for you or not. So we talked about how it might make her tummy hurt, and to pay attention to how she felt after, but I let her eat it.

My goal is to do this for two weeks and see if it makes a difference. Caden loves to be sick, loves the attention she gets from it, so we’ve had a lot of talks about telling the truth. I’ve also explained over and over how this means no birthday cake, no pizza at friend’s houses, that this will not be easy. While I want to figure this out, for her sake I hope gluten isn’t the cause of this.

And because I want this documented somewhere, here is the recipe for Gluten Free Buttermilk Pancakes I made this weekend. After eating regular pancakes with my parents, the girls weren’t falling for my gluten free pancakes anymore. I knew I needed to up my game, so I’ve tried out a few buttermilk pancake recipes over the last few months. This weekend I put a few of them together and came up with these. Everyone loved them! The recipe makes a huge amount of batter, but that’s perfect because I froze the extras and will reheat them for breakfasts and snacks.

Gluten Free Buttermilk Pancakes
1 cup rice flour
3/4 cup potato starch
1/2 cup almond flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
2 T sugar
1 T baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup melted butter
1 1/4 cup buttermilk
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs

Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl. Use a whisk to really get everything combined well. In another bowl whisk together the wet ingredients. Pour wet into dry, stir just until combined. Butter up your griddle and go to town!


Leave a Reply

