The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Fall Festival

on November 4, 2013

Parties at daycare were always tricky because either I had to run back and forth between two parties, or one kid had to hang with their sister’s class. It was never ideal. So, I vowed to not do that craziness for the grade school parties. When Caden’s teacher emailed asking for volunteers to help at their Fall Festival, I quickly emailed her back and signed up for a craft station. What was much trickier was telling Delaney of this plan, who cried and cried and cried. (Come to think of it, that’s why she lost her sh!t last week.) I promised her I would be at her Christmas party, but oops! They don’t have Christmas parties, so Valentine’s it is. Luckily conferences were the day before and Caden’s teacher suggested having lunch with Delaney which worked out perfectly. I was able to meet her friends, get her in her costume, and then spend the rest of the time in Caden’s classroom.

fall fest 01

I grabbed a few pictures while we were at school because I had no idea if we would have time that night. What was kind of hilarious was that kids lined up to have me take their pictures. No problem!

fall fest 02

Delaney did not want me to take her picture in front of her friends. How awesome is this photo bomb though? This little guy was determinedly in character!

fall fest 03

The other three moms instantly had awesome ideas for their stations. Mine took a little more research. I went with a ghost craft because I thought it would be fun, and easy enough to buy the supplies.

fall fest 04

The kids drew a ghost on black paper, then went over their drawing with glue. I had marshmallows, cotton balls, and tissue paper that they could use to outline and fill in their ghosts, and then we had googly eyes.

fall fest 05

The kids really got into it! I loved seeing their creativity! I also learned quickly that there needed to be a rule of no eating the marshmallows until we were finished with our ghost.


Leave a Reply

