The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Quiet Weekend

on October 14, 2013

It was a very quiet weekend around these parts. Of course I realized it was going to be quiet too late to plan something super awesome. I did however pull together a play date with a neighbor friend that the girls play with at school, so points to me for that! Between the play date and all the outside time we had, the girls slept like rocks Saturday night which is always a bonus.

I realized two things this weekend. One, Saturday is a much better day for me to do batch cooking/weekday prep. I’m not exhausted, and it doesn’t feel overwhelming. Two, I’m much better at batch baking than savory prep cooking. I love to bake. You mix something up, throw it in the oven, and 20 minutes later out comes delicious goodness. To that end our freezer is now stocked with another batch of pumpkin muffins, cranberry scones, corn bread muffins, and I made a batch of granola (which I kind of burnt which makes me angry because I love my granola).

Saturday night for dinner we had chicken & rice soup. The girls went crazy for it! I loved it because it was easy to put together, I had most of the ingredients on hand, and it made the house smell amazing while it cooked. We had enough for dinner that night, lunch the next day, and I have six servings in the freezer for the girls’ school lunches. The soup will reheat perfectly for them.

The conversation last week about two for one meal combos was so great! It had me thinking all weekend. I’ve tried pretty much every suggestion at one point in time or another. What seems to work best for our family (since generally my kids just don’t eat that much) is to prep one protein to have on hand for the week, and to have that be easily freezable if we don’t get to it. I’ve wasted too much meat prepping it ahead of time and thinking we’ll eat it, and then things get crazy and we’re at Pizza Luce every night. But, I also realized I spend way too much time recipe browsing when really, I have a few recipes that work well for weekend cooking/weekday leftovers, and I just need to schedule those as recurring in my meal calendar. (I use google so it’s available at home, work, and my phone. Love.) So that’s what I’m doing tonight. Big plans!

Here are my go to weekend recipes:

Chicken Enchiladas. This recipe is for cheese, but I throw some cumin and chile powder on chicken and roll it up with cheese.

Baked Polenta with Tomato Sauce. This recipe is so easy, and so delicious. I roast some sort of meat to go on top of this. Even my girls love this!

Buttermilk Chicken. This recipe is well chronicled in my weekly menu plans. I do love roasting a whole chicken, but I’ve been doing split chicken breasts this way lately instead and I’m really loving how simple it is, and how it’s just the right amount of chicken.

Simple tomato sauce with sauteed chicken. I just realized I don’t think I have this recipe bookmarked anywhere! It’s based off a Jamie Oliver recipe, but even searching on that didn’t help. Anyway, it’s a simple tomato sauce that simmers for a few hours, then you sear chicken breasts and cook them the rest of the way in the sauce. It’s divine. I haven’t had it in a while because tomatoes can be too acidic for me, but I’m definitely going to try it again soon, possibly with a little extra sugar.

Spicy Shredded Chicken. When I’m in the mood for more than just throwing cumin on my chicken, this is tasty and easy.

Roast lemon & oregano roast chicken. My freezer is empty so I’m due to make another batch of these.

I was going to add fajitas to this, but I think I’m fajita’d out. And clearly the recipes are heavy on the chicken. I love a good steak and we eat a lot of shrimp, but those are definitely weeknight meals because they can be made quickly. Although perhaps I should schedule those in as well? Between that and Taco Tuesday, I might actually be covered for most days!


Leave a Reply

