The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Slow Day

on October 10, 2013

Last night I had a work meeting that ran from 5-8pm.  Pre-kindergarten, I would have traded vehicles with one of their daycare teachers and sent the girls home with them.  They’d make them dinner and get them  ready for bed.  Now that they’re in kindergarten I’ve had to get more creative.  I decided to try having them ride the bus home, with their babysitter (ex-daycare teacher of course) waiting for them at the bus stop.  No more vehicle trades to ensure they have car seats!  No more paying for their daycare teacher’s parking!   Logistically this is fairly simple, but the first time of course anxiety inducing trying to make sure everyone knew what was going on.  But, it all worked out!  With so many of these transitions/changes it’s the first time that is the huge hump to get over.  Once we do it once, it’s all good, and I really wanted to get this first bus ride home out of the way.  I love their after school program, but this winter there are definitely going to be cold days when having them ride the bus home when I’m working from home will be KEY.

As I was tucking them into bed and kissing them good night Delaney said “Why do you taste like wine?”  I said “Because we had wine with dinner.”  “You didn’t eat dinner!”  “Yes I did.  We ate dinner during our meeting.”  Delaney’s reply “AWKward!”  It made no sense, but it totally made me laugh.


Leave a Reply

