The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Two for One

on October 8, 2013

As part of my resolve to make dinner easier during the week, I tried for a two for one combo this week.  Normally I’ll roast some chicken on Sunday and we eat it throughout the week in various ways (quesadillas, tacos, taquitos, rice bowls), but we’ve pretty much beaten that horse dead so I tried to branch out with some fall vegetables as the base.

Sunday evening was Delicata Squash stuffed with spiced meat and tomatoes.  Actually it was supposed to be spaghetti squash with a meat marinara sauce, but Target didn’t carry spaghetti squash and it was one of those shopping trips where come hell or high water, Target was going to be our only stop, so I googled my ingredients and went with the Nom Nom Paleo recipe because they never fail me.  I put spinach in the mix as well, because we got some in our CSA and I really wanted to use as many veggies as I could.   The girls were intrigued by these, but really only ate the hamburger mixture (which was very tasty with some parmesan cheese melted on top) with a few tiny bites of squash.

Monday night I used the leftover meat mixture, added some corn, and topped it over sweet potatoes I roasted on Sunday.  The bummer of this was that it was almost the exact same dish I had eaten the night before (the girls ate a deconstructed version).  Plus, I love sweet potatoes but they’re sweet and I would much rather pair them with brown sugar or do sweet potato fries.  Next time I think I would roast a mixture of sweet potatoes and regular potatoes and mix the meat mixture with that.  And maybe try to work in a side dish of some sort.

So did this buy me any time?  I’m not so terribly sure it did.  Everything needed to be heated up in the microwave, which meant I spent a lot of time just waiting for everything to be hot.  It didn’t help that we were all still hungry after dinner.

Anyone have any other two for one combos I can try?  I love the idea of this, I just need to find other ways to implement it!


5 responses to “Two for One

  1. Jill says:

    Not sure if this will help, but… What I do isn’t strictly two for one, but you do come out with 2 for 1 in the end. I do 2 casserole or crockpot meals a week, which I prep on Sunday night. I double both recipes, put 2 casseroles in the freezer and 2 in the fridge for the week. I try to schedule it so the first two Sundays of the month I make and the second two weeks we use the frozen then you get a two week rotation on the menu.

  2. Laura Case says:

    One of our favorite ways to reuse is to grill meats (steaks, chicken, pork) to eat with veggies, then use the leftovers as the main part of Make Your Own Taco night. We do Taco Tuesday every week, and everyone loves it! This is also one of our fastest meals – we do crockpot beans that I freeze leftovers, then bowls of cheese, microwave rice from TJs, mexican cheese, then hard and soft tacos. Usually corn as a side.

    And since I work from home, I eat a lot of leftover meats in salad. Whatever we’ve grilled, I throw in salads. My favorite salad is romaine hearts, pistachios, dried cranberries or cherries, and meat. Sometimes blue cheese.

  3. Amanda says:

    I made this on Monday night, and it was great: http://www.meatlessmonday.com/brussels-sprout-gratin-with-potatoes-and-spinach/.

    I used gluten-free bread crumbs, and only used 1.5 onions. Next time, I will cut the onion back even further and add a pinch more salt during the cooking process. If you have a food processor that can hack all the veggies into pieces, it really doesn’t take much time!

    Last night I had leftovers with a fried egg on top, but I think it would also make a good side for a quick protein.

  4. Michelle says:

    Not really a good two-for-one, but my trick is a little extra meat prep on Sunday. I brown ground beef and roast or bake several chicken breasts. Then I shred half the chicken and dice half. I package everything up in 1 cup portions and freeze in ziploc bags. Then during the week, I reach in the freezer and grab a bag of meat for the night. The small amount means it thaws really quickly. Since my meat is already prepped, I can easily drop it into whatever I am cooking for dinner.

  5. […] conversation last week about two for one meal combos was so great! It had me thinking all weekend. I’ve tried pretty much every suggestion at one […]

Leave a Reply

