The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Not what I thought it would be

on September 25, 2013

In August while prepping for all things kindergarten, I realized that my two chatty girls wouldn’t be with me for my commute to and from downtown anymore and I got a little sad. And then I immediately got really happy because those two chatterboxes when you haven’t had any coffee? Not my ideal morning necessarily. I was kind of excited to have my relaxing, quiet commute back.

While it was convenient to have the girls in the same building, it also meant that when I left, I needed to take them with me which wasn’t always convenient. Feeling sick at noon? That’s right before naptime and would they really nap at home with me? Need to run a few errands after work? Girls are coming along! They were minor frustrations, but I was definitely looking forward to getting my freedom back.

And yet. My commute home is now more complicated. Instead of heading home, I head to their school to pick them up. There is no great way to get to their school. No matter which route I take (and I’ve tried them all) I run into either traffic, stoplights, or both. Last night I hit traffic coming out of downtown, and then more traffic getting onto the next highway. The entire time I was sitting in traffic I kept thinking that before, at least the girls were with me. Maybe we were stuck in traffic, but we were stuck together! I could chat with them, hear about their day. Now I sit in traffic by myself, missing my girls and realizing that my time with them is getting cut shorter and shorter. I hate it.

I contemplated a few options last night on the drive home. The best seems to be leaving work a half hour earlier each night, in order to miss the majority of the traffic. 30 minutes doesn’t sound like a big deal, but it feels like a big deal. If I bring my laptop home each night I get sneak in another hour or two of work either while the girls are playing or once they’re in bed. Not ideal, but hopefully better than where we’re at now.


One response to “Not what I thought it would be

  1. […] known for a little while that our evening routine wasn’t working. It was taking too long to fight traffic to pick the girls up at night, which meant we had too little time to do anything in the evenings. […]

Leave a Reply

