The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Okay, so they’re bond is kind of tight

on September 19, 2013

sisters

If you follow me on Facebook or Instagram, you’ve seen variations of this picture many times. Six nights out of 7, this is how I find the girls when I check on them before going to bed. I tuck them into their own beds at 8:00pm, but often times I don’t even get the door of their room shut before Caden is hustling up to Laney’s bunk.

First, they play. But they’ve been tired lately so I don’t think they play for long. Once they start talking about falling asleep, Caden gets nervous. She doesn’t like to be alone, much less alone in the dark. Delaney is an awesome big sister, so invites her to sleep in her bed. They snuggle up together and fall asleep.

Some nights I untangle them and move Caden back to her bed. It can be tricky though, to climb up a ladder, extract her from her corner, and then get her back down, so some nights I just leave them. Occasionally she wakes up in the middle of the night and gets back into her bunk, but most of the time she sleeps with her sister until morning, and then comes into my bed around 6:00am.

Caden is a typical extrovert. She hates being alone. For this reason alone I wonder if they will ever want separate bedrooms. I can definitely see them sharing a room even through high school.


Leave a Reply

