The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Popcorn and a Movie

on September 12, 2013

We are a family that loves popcorn. My parents have an awesome popcorn maker, and we always get the big tub at the movies. The one place we don’t really do popcorn is at home. I LOVE microwave popcorn, but I get nervous about the ingredients, and we hadn’t tried anything else. We were in the bulk section of the grocery store Saturday morning when I spotted a bin of organic popcorn. Perfect! We had no plans for the evening, why not do fresh popped popcorn and a little Project Runway?

popcorn

Growing up we had a popcorn maker. Since I don’t have one, I quickly googled popcorn recipe and found one on one of my favorite blogs. Her recipes never fail, so I knew it would be good, and it was.

I heated the oil in a big pan, then threw in a few kernels. Once those popped I poured in 1/3 cup of popcorn, then pulled it off the heat for 30 seconds. Back on the heat it went, with the cover on until we heard the popping slow way down. That part was so fun! The girls loved hearing everything pop, and I had to keep shaking the pan, which they also loved.

popcorn 2

We poured it into a big bowl, and topped it off with plenty of butter and salt (too much salt, but really, can you have too much salt?). We all love popcorn, and have been known to down a large bucket at the theatre so I was nervous, but it was the perfect amount of popcorn for the three of us.


2 responses to “Popcorn and a Movie

  1. Laura Case says:

    I make so so so much popcorn at home. It was one of the few foods I could eat during my whole gall bladder saga!!

  2. Scott says:

    I am a popcorn fanatic myself. I make it with Olive Oil. I put a bit more in than you might with the regular oil, so I don’t need to add any butter. I add salt (Mediterranean Sea Salt) and pepper, which I hear is a bit unconventional, but it is tasty!

Leave a Reply

