The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Help me, help them

on August 8, 2013

Messes are a problem at our house. Messes stress me out.

Last night when we got home from swimming I cleaned for a solid hour and a half. Dinner, dishes, shoes, laundry, dog hair, clothes. The girls played dress up so their dress up clothes were strewn across the living room. We got everything cleaned up, pajamas on, and then as I was putting them to bed I looked in the bathroom and there were toothbrushes and toothpaste everywhere. It kind of broke me.

So give me your best advice. What did you/do you do to help your kids understand that they need to clean up after themselves, as well as pitch in around the house. I know it’s a lifelong process, but I’m hoping that there are some foundational things I can do now, that will pay off later.

At the moment, we are working on expectations. Just in case they didn’t know what is expected after they brush their teeth, telling them clearly to put everything away and clean out the sink. Both girls are also desperate for money right now, and while I hate to pay for jobs, we may do that for a bit.


One response to “Help me, help them

  1. Laura Case says:

    Basically we had to come up with a system that worked. In our old house, before the boys went to bed every night, everything had to be picked up. We’re more lax in the new house bc they have the third floor to play and I don’t care how it looks there. But I think just getting them in the process of helping – cleaning up their dishes, putting away their toys, etc – helps you think about other ways they can help.

Leave a Reply

