The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

We’re screwed aren’t we?

on July 18, 2013

The girls’ bedtime is 8:00pm. That’s when they go to bed, when they actually fall asleep is anyone’s guess. There are plenty of times they are asleep by 9:00pm, but there are other nights when I’m going to bed at 10:30pm and they are coming out of their room to chat me up. I’ve never loved how late they fall asleep, but as long as they’re quiet I try to stay out of it.

When we stayed at my brother’s house I had a bit of an epiphany. His kids go to bed at 8:00pm and are asleep by 8:15pm. Not a peep from them! (They’re also in bed alone, without a sister to laugh and tell stories with.) But they get up at 6:15am. I prefer not to wake at an hour that begins with a 6, and neither do my kids. I usually wake them at 7:30am if they aren’t already up. So of course if they sleep an hour later in the morning, they’re going to fall asleep an hour later at night. A ha!

It doesn’t help that the girls nap more days than they don’t. Caden has a lot of anxiety about falling asleep right now, so by the time nap time rolls around she’s out like a little light, which only perpetuates them falling asleep super late at night. It’s a vicious cycle right now.

I figured naps would taper off as kindergarten got closer. Instead we are in the opposite situation. I told Delaney the other day that in kindergarten, she wouldn’t get to nap. Her response? “That’s why I’m getting all my sleep now!”

Daycare is very willing to work with us, and we’ll be shortening up naps in August, switching to rest time only the last two weeks. I just worry that kindergarten is going to absolutely wear them out, and they’ll be complete messes every night until they adjust. Then again, maybe being forced away from naps will finally adjust their schedules enough that they’ll fall asleep at a normal time at night.


One response to “We’re screwed aren’t we?

  1. Amanda says:

    We had this same issue with Maddie when she started Kindergarten. She’s never been a great sleeper, but she was so used to have a nap at daycare every day that the first month or two of kindergarten was a complete mess. She fell apart by 6:00 every night. I was to the point where I honestly didn’t know what to do with her anymore — she was out of control. There was more than one night where she’d fall asleep in the car on the way home from after-school care and not get up until the next morning. BUT — she adjusted. After the first six weeks or so, my sweet Maddie returned, and instead of falling asleep in the car on the way from from daycare every day, she was awake and alert and telling me all about her day. You guys have always been good at finding a routine that works for you, and this will be an adjustment, but it’s just like anything else — practice makes perfect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

