The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Summertime slowdown

on July 1, 2013

Work has been busy lately, and I’m wanting to enjoy summer more, so I’ve been simplifying where I can. One of those places has been our meals. No more slaving over a hot stove for 45 minutes to get a weeknight dinner on the table. I just can’t do it. It’s been more easy meals and less fussy meals. Leftovers, grill, cereal, yogurt, rotisserie chicken. Nothing pulled together enough to post a meal plan, but I have come across a few good recipes lately.

Paleo Mediterranean Chicken – I cut the chicken into cubes right away to make this faster/easier to cook. This recipe was good, but more than anything, this is a great base. Saute chicken, throw in some vegetables. Considering there is always something from the CSA box that needs to be eaten, this will be in the summer rotation.

Shrimp, edamame, and avocado salad – When Michelle and Wade came over for dinner the other week I made this salad to go along with our burgers. It was really good! Lots of flavor, relatively easy to pull together as well.

Slow cooker shredded chicken – I threw this in the crock pot Sunday afternoon and it was the perfect summer dinner. The girls had chicken tacos, I made a chicken tostada with a corn tortilla, cheese, and avocado. And there was extra to freeze!


Leave a Reply

