The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

It’s time to juice

on June 10, 2013

We should probably start at the beginning. I read a decent number of food blogs and had been seeing references to juicing all over the place. I created a pinterest board because I kind of felt like sooner or later I was going to jump on this bandwagon. The girls love the Naked juices (even the green one), as did I, and I started thinking maybe this would be a good idea for our family. Also? I suck at vegetable side dishes. I mostly saute in olive oil or roast them, and more often than not they end up drowning in olive oil, not exactly the picture of nutrition. The girls ‘bought’ me a juicer for my birthday and we were off.

We started off with the easy juices. Carrot/Pineapple/Apple was our favorite, followed closely by carrot/pear/apple/ginger. I’d throw in whatever extra fruit we had lying around and everyone loved it, plus we were getting lots of veggies! We used it as an add on, when I was too lazy to actually cook a vegetable.

As I started roaming around the internets looking for juicing recipes, I stumbled upon people talking about the movie Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead. This movie seemed to be an eye opener for many people, so I checked it out from the library and we watched it as a family. Eye opener indeed! Long story short, it’s about a guy who is overweight and unhealthy, on a lot of prescription meds. He goes on a 60 day juice fast, loses a ton of weight, and gets off all of his medication. Miracle story!

juice 1
The mean green juice.  Kale, celery, cucumber, apple, lemon.

Since I hadn’t been feeling the best lately, I thought maybe a juice fast was in order for me. While out in San Francisco last week I indulged in a bit of the gluten, and came home feeling absolutely awful. It was definitely time to reboot my body.

I eased into my juice fast. Initially replacing a few meals with juice, and then Sunday juicing the entire day. It’s been up and down, I won’t lie. My body clearly likes the juice, but about an hour later I’m hungry again. If I wait another hour I feel better, so I’ve just been waiting it out. I completely miscalculated my grocery list, so I’m going to have to supplement tonight with a salad (I have a work dinner anyway, so easier than justifying my juice to coworkers). I had initially hoped to do a 3 day juice fast, extending it to 5 days if I could. I would really like to get not only the weight loss benefits, but the detox/digestive benefits as well.

juice 2
Clearly I have a future in food photography no?  This juice was delicious.  Sweet potato, peaches, apples, blueberries, and strawberries.

If I can find some kale today, I’d like to continue for at least a few more days. I’ve heard the first three days are the worst, so if I can get beyond that hopefully I’ll see some huge upside to this.

But even if I can’t make it that far, all of this has made me seriously reconsider how we eat. We eat mostly protein, with some vague vegetable side dishes. While it means our white flour and processed food intake is relatively low, I can’t believe this is completely healthy. I have zero desire to become a vegetarian, but I do want to incorporate more vegetables (and not just in juices) in our diet. Our first CSA box arrives this week, which should give us a nice vegetable boost, plus I’ve been searching out more meatless recipes to add to our repertoire.

Note to my mother and Sue – You need to watch Hungry for Change. The whole first hour is dedicated to the two of you!


3 responses to “It’s time to juice

  1. Grammy says:

    I will check it out, but there had better be wine on the menu!

  2. Scott says:

    Erin, try the Nutri Bullet. I use it each morning. It is fast, easy to clean and makes great juice. I put in a variety of fruit, avocado, celery, spinach, kale, carrot, banana,chia seed (super fiber) and apple juice for liquid.

  3. Amanda says:

    First, you were in SF and you didn’t let me know!? (I guess I’ve been in MN two dozen times since last we saw each other, but I’m planning to MOVE THERE, so we should talk soon!)

    Second, I bought the BluePrint juice cleanse from the Internet, because I do not have the time/inclination to make all that juice myself. It’s so pricey that I won’t be able to afford to do it very often (if it doen’t kill me), but I definitely need to figure out how to eat more fruits/veggies. Claire is way better at it than I am. She has fruit with every single meal, and most of her snacks are fruits and veggies. I’m all about the grains, with a smattering of veggies. Maybe this cleanse will help! But it’s only day one.

Leave a Reply

