The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

The gift of time

on May 6, 2013

Quick Lucy update. On Saturday she started walking on her own, without me having to support her back end with a towel. She also became more alert, and wanted to come upstairs to be by us, instead of staying in the basement. On Sunday I’d say she was at 75%? Walking by herself, up and out with us most of the day, but still lilting to the left. I’m making sure she gets plenty of rest, but it’s good to see her personality again.

With my birthday coming up (May 17!) my mom asked me what I wanted for my birthday. Like most people in this age range, I don’t really *need* anything material so instead I asked her for the gift of time. Life has definitely been a whirlwind around here. This means that my house is also a whirlwind, which in turn stresses me out. I asked my parents to come up and help me organize the house. It’s one of those things that would take me the entire summer to do on my own, but when the five of us do it together? Done (mostly) in a day.

(I took zero pictures! I’m a little bummed because it was cute watching the girls, but we were nonstop working so there was just no time.)

My dad and the girls tackled the shed. That thing is packed to the gills with crap. Also? There are mice out there! So I get in and get out as quickly as possible. He took everything out, sorted it into piles – Keep, Sell, Trash – and then put it back together. LOVE. It’s so nice to have that section of the yard organized again. We also made plans for re-seeding the yard next weekend. Now that the snow has melted, it’s become painfully clear just how bad my grass looks. Ouch.

My mom and I tackled the house. We went room by room, cleaning and finding homes for things. My screen porch is now clean! That was my dumping ground this winter. Everything that needed a home that wasn’t my living room got shoved in there. My mom organized the playroom in the basement and that’s where we put all of the garage sale stuff. She also went through the basement and cleaned up all of my piles and boxes! It hasn’t been this clean since I moved in!

Huge thank yous to both my parents, and my children, all of whom worked hard all day. Thank you thank you!


2 responses to “The gift of time

  1. LauraC says:

    Such a great gift! And awesome to ask for it!

  2. Grammy says:

    It didn’t seem like work at all! Happy we could make a difference.

Leave a Reply

