The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Another Milestone

on April 22, 2013

A few weeks ago I got a letter in the mail from our church. At the top it said “Your Baptism Milestone”. I immediately thought either they sent it to the wrong person, or that they thought my 5-year-olds were 5-month-olds. Nope! This was a letter about the 4-year-old baptism milestone – Helping out at worship.

I know I’ve talked before about how much I love our new church, but this is just another one of those things. They invest so deeply in the kids, and not just on Wednesday evenings, but all the time. Every Sunday, every worship, and throughout the year with special things like this. (Can I tell you how excited I am for my kids to go to vacation bible school this summer? So excited!)

Last week we had a special Sunday School class where we talked about the sanctuary and different things about worshiping throughout the year. This is the first time we’ve consistently gone to church, so the girls aren’t familiar with the colors used and they don’t necessarily pay attention to everything in the sanctuary. It was nice to point things out and learn a few things myself.

This Sunday we were helpers. We could either be greeters, or help pass the offering plate. We were a little slow on the sign up, so we said we would help pass the plate. Honestly, this was the perfect helper job for them since they’re a little on the shy side. They got to go up front for the children’s sermon, then after the main sermon we went back to get our plate. The girls switched off grabbing the plate and taking it to the next row of people as I directed them. Afterwards, we gave all of the plates to the 4-year-olds and they walked them up. It was Adorable.

As I stood there watching them skip back down the aisle, I thought again how lucky we are to have found this community. It’s so nice to have our Sundays have a purpose again. To go somewhere that reminds me of what the big picture is all about. To have the girls love learning about faith and God, and to know that they will have a solid foundation to build off of.


One response to “Another Milestone

  1. Alexa says:

    I had started going to church consistently about a year ago, then the preacher whome I had become pretty close to quit. The main reason I had started going in the first place was because he encouraged me to so when he left I quit going.

    I did find another church that I really liked and my oldest daughter loved the group of kids there but I haven’t went for awhile. I really need to get back to consistently going because I felt so good about myself when I did.

    Glad that you have found a great Church.

Leave a Reply

