The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Upside Down

on April 9, 2013

With everything that’s gone on lately I feel as though my life is a little upside down. Pick your poison – food poisoning while on vacation, 30 degrees below normal weather on vacation, ordering bunk beds, whirlwind room redo, kid with stitches, kid with 24 hour flu – it’s worn me down.

I know I need to get back to taking better care of me, I’m just having a little trouble pulling that piece together. I know I need to eat more protein, but I didn’t necessarily meal plan that way because I was craving carbs then. I also didn’t grocery shop for that, and since we’ve been trying to eat what’s in our freezer, I don’t have a lot of meat there. I know I need to exercise more, but I’m exhausted and getting on the treadmill is the last thing I want to do. I know I need to get more sleep, but the books I have right now are so good, and since I love to read, I stay up too late. The kicker on top of all of this is that I have had to cut my coffee intake waaaaay back because it was aggravating my reflux. So I’m doing all of this, less than caffeinated. Oh well, it will all turn around soon with warmer weather right? OH THAT’S RIGHT. It’s supposed to snow 6″ this week. Good thing I was too lazy to put my snowblower away this weekend.

puzzles

Enough about me, let’s talk about these two. When Caden’s fever got to 102.5 Sunday night and she had the chills so bad she could hardly hold a glass of water and wore a hat and fleece jacket to stay warm, I thought we were in for a rough week. But, by Monday morning she was fine. She would only take one dose of tylenol right before bed, so maybe not treating her fever let it workself out on its own? Who knows.

I do know that they were so happy to see each other Monday afternoon. I often wonder if they get along so well because they’re identical, or because they are separated most of the day. Probably a bit of both. Right now they are fierce friends, playing together nonstop and making each other laugh like goons.


One response to “Upside Down

  1. Alexa says:

    I hope her fever comes way down soon. My youngest daughter had a mild fever last night, I gave her some childrens tylenol and she seemed fine this morning.

    As for you, make some time for yourself! But I totally understand the exhausted feeling as I am there the majority of the time and probably couldn’t function without caffeine.

Leave a Reply

