The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Possibly Delusional

on April 3, 2013

Our bedtime routine is in a fairly good groove right now. The girls go to bed at 8:00pm, and they chat until somewhere between 8:30 – 9:30pm when they fall asleep. Bedtime is always a hot topic on the multiples board. Some parents sit in their kids rooms until they fall asleep to ensure no nighttime shenanigans. My stance has always been that they need to figure out on their own when and how to fall asleep. At age five, I cannot be monitoring that. Also, I want them to enjoy the joys of sharing a room with their sister. The chatting, the playing, the giggles. It’s all part of the fun. So as long as they stay in their room, I stay out of it.

Vacation threw us off our groove for a few weeks, but we are back on track now. Except now I’m going to throw bunk beds into the mix. I’m really not sure how this will go. If I had to guess, I would say bedtime will be awesome for the first few weeks and then slowly disintegrate until we find our new normal. I bought them clip on lamps so they can read in bed, and I’m guessing the beds will be so novel that they won’t get out at first.

But then what? We have had many talks about how once you’re in the top bunk, you don’t get down. Especially in the dark. (Side note: The twinkle lights are gone. Just after we got back from vacation Delaney dared her sister to bite one. She did, it broke, the twinkle lights came down for good.) At least in the beginning Delaney will get the top bunk because she generally sleeps all night. Caden very frequently gets up in the middle of the night and wanders sleepily into bed with me. In the morning she rarely remembers doing this, which means girlfriend bought herself the bottom bunk. I do not need that kid negotiating a ladder half asleep.

So will they love their big new beds so much they won’t come out of their room anymore? Because that would be awesome. They don’t come out often anymore, but I would love it if they really stayed in their room from now on. I’m even fine if they stay up reading books in bed. Be a bookworm! I just don’t want to end up in the ER because someone missed their sister and needed to climb up/down the ladder to get to her.


One response to “Possibly Delusional

  1. Laura Case says:

    Two other bunk bed rules:
    Only one person on the top bunk at a time. Ever.
    No jumping from the top bunk. Ever.

    Can you tell I have active boys???

Leave a Reply

