The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Our Week

on March 20, 2013

Monday – Early Childhood Screening. Apparently I was the only one who didn’t know this was required for kindergarten. Everyone I talked to said their kids did it when they were four. So clearly, my two five-year-olds rocked it. They flew through the questions and aced the exam. What was supposed to take an hour was finished in 25 minutes, and that included height, weight, vision and hearing exams. Check that one off the list.

Tuesday – Kindergarten Roundup! My two have been obsessing about kindergarten for two years now. They are beyond excited for it. But, now that they are five, a little anxiety is starting to sneak in. (I’ll be honest, I’m starting to get anxious too. This will be a lot of changes for our family.) One of the missing puzzle pieces for them was that they had never been to their new school, kindergarten round up would be the first time.

Things were a little hectic trying to register two kids, and juggle two sets of paperwork, but we stood in all of the lines and found our neighbors who saved us a seat. The kids went off to the classrooms while they did a question and answer thing for the parents. Caden was fearless per usual, Delaney was nervous but was smiling by the time they came back to the gym. I’m very excited about their school, but all of my questions center around logistics. Instead of asking a million of those questions there, I’ll just hit up my neighborhood friends this summer.

I’m both excited and nervous about figuring out our new routine come September. The girls will get on the school bus at 8:40am. This is 40-45 minutes later than we leave the house now, so we’ll have plenty of time to get ready in the mornings. I might even be able to fit in a run without having to get up at the crack of dawn!

Wednesday – 5 year well check. I’m not sure if it was incredibly good or incredibly bad planning to have all of this stuff in one week, but at least I’m getting all of the paperwork out of the way in one crack. There will be shots involved at this one, but I haven’t told the girls that yet. Let’s hope I remember their ipods for the inevitable long wait in the exam room.


Leave a Reply

