The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Stitch Fix #5

on March 19, 2013

Familiar with Stitch Fix? It’s an online styling service where they send you clothes they think you’ll like, you try it all on, keep what you like and send back the rest. I’ve blogged about Stich Fixes #1 and #2 before, but skipped #3 and #4. Why? Well, it can be hard to get flattering photos of the clothes (as you’ll soon see) and in the dark of winter, sometimes it’s just easier to shop quietly. But, I absolutely love this service and want to spread the word!

I’ve talked before that I don’t get out to shop much but truly, I do get to a few stores and since I work downtown, I can sneak out and shop. But, I normally shop at Gap or Old navy, sometimes Ann Taylor. While I like their stuff, it’s a lot of the same old, same old. What I love about my Stitch Fixes is that they send me things I wouldn’t otherwise even see in a store! I feel like with the pieces I’ve bought from them (I generally buy two pieces each time) I’ve really built out my wardrobe appropriately. I feel good about the clothes I wear these days and I love it.

Onto the clothes! I asked for dresses and clothes that were ready for spring this time.
**Let’s level set quickly. Delaney took these pictures Sunday afternoon right after I had showered and dried my hair. Hadn’t flat ironed it yet, and minimal makeup. Also, Delaney is short. I looked around for something for her to stand on, but there was nothing nearby that I felt comfortable with.**

black dress

First up is a black ponte dress. Cute, basic dress, great for summer. Wear it alone with a great necklace and pair of shoes, or with a jacket. Except, it just falls flat doesn’ it? It had a cute kicky skirt, but everything else was just so blah. Maybe if the neckline were different? Or the sleeves? But, this one was a no.

blue shirt

Delaney maybe cut my head off in a few of these, but we’re not really looking at my hair are we? Blue drapey neckline shirt. Yuck. I hate dolman sleeves. Who wants to be wider at their bustline? The color is great for me, but everything else screams no.

red shirt

Can you tell I love this shirt? It’s just so perfect! For what it’s worth, all the young women I work with wear flowy shirts like these, but I’ve never seen them anywhere I shop. So I loved this! Love the color, love the fit, love that I don’t even need a tank underneath although I probably will wear one. Keeper! (I think it was $58?)

striped shirt

You’re going to have to use your imagination a bit with this one because it didn’t photograph well, but I loved this tank. I love that it hides that flabby spot right at your arm pits. I generally wouldn’t go for horizontal stripes, but this will be a great layering piece. Keeper!

grey dress

My photographers were maybe losing interest a bit here. You can see the look on my face of “Just take the picture and quit wobbling the camera!” I think this was #20 of the bunch? Anyway, the dress isn’t flattering, no matter how much I wanted it to be. The concept was great, the fit was no. Sending it back.

Two out of five were keepers, which is about my average. To be fair, that’s about what I’m comfortable spending, so I’m always kind of happy that there are a few bummer pieces in each shipment.

If you’re interested in using Stitch Fix, go here to sign up! Like I said, I’ve really enjoyed the service and all of the things I’ve bought I’ve worn a lot and been super happy with the quality.


8 responses to “Stitch Fix #5

  1. LauraC says:

    Everyone is raving about Stitch Fix but I just can’t justify it since I work from home and am currently wearing a Little Miss Sunshine tshirt and jeans with a hole in them.

  2. Grammy says:

    I am going to check it out. And I think the photographer deserves some kudos for her work. Especially like the shot of Lucy in the background.

  3. Mita says:

    I signed up after you posted and I’ve only had one fix so far. Kept one shirt, which I loved. The prices are a bit high for me, but like you said, you do get to see things that you don’t find in your staple stores. I’m also a Gap/Old Navy shopper with a side of JCP, so its good to get things that not everyone else has. I looking forward to my next one.

  4. Michelle says:

    I would love to try StitchFix but they don’t carry plus sizes yet so no luck here. FWIW, I think the blue drapery collar shirt looks fabulous on you!

  5. Shelly says:

    I found your blog while looking around at other people’s fixes. I had my first one on Friday. I’ve already packaged it all up and sent the whole thing back. I’m hoping my second one (in about a week and a half) is much better. Seeing some of your items helps me feel optimistic. You look great.

  6. […] can see my previous Fix’s here, here, and here. You fill out a style profile with Stitch Fix, and they send you a personalized box of clothes. […]

  7. I know this is from a while ago, but I’m curious if you know the name of the black/white striped tank – I really like it and would love to request something similar.

Leave a Reply

