The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Back together again

on January 28, 2013

Last week I got an email from the mom of Caden’s best friend from last year, asking for a playdate. I was so excited to see it! I had never emailed her, mostly because I didn’t know how busy they were, and also because I felt like Caden needed to make it work in her new classroom. She has, but I know she still misses her friend. We agreed on Saturday afternoon, and then it was time to tell the girls.

This was a playdate just for Caden. The other mom was specific in her invite, and even if she hadn’t been, I wouldn’t have sent Delaney along. Caden and her friend hadn’t seen each other in months, and I knew Delaney would have been odd girl out all day. I also don’t want them to think that they have to do everything like this together. Especially next year, there will be plenty of times when only one is invited to things.

I pitched a fun day of shopping and errands to Delaney, who was not convinced. She was so sad about the whole thing. It all culminated on Friday afternoon when she sobbed on the drive home. She felt so left out, and I felt so awful. I’m going to try to pull together a playdate with one of her friends, but even then if it’s at our house, Caden will be there.

When we dropped Caden off she took off her coat, gave her friend a hug and pushed me out the door. She was so happy, and the whole day was so good for her. Delaney and I came back a little early (there’s only so much shopping you can do when you can’t spend any money) so she could get a little playtime in too. The mom and I chatted and decided we definitely have to do this again soon.


Leave a Reply

