The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Birthday Dresses

on January 21, 2013

A few weeks ago I took a look around the internets to see if any of the online retailers had cute dresses out yet. No one did. But of course, I saw cute dresses on a ton of sewing websites. Once again I convinced myself – I can make their birthday dresses! I pinned a few different ideas, showed them to them and both picked this dress –

Source: made-by-rae.com via Erin on Pinterest

They loved the rainbow effect. I loved the fact that I was pretty sure I could make it, having done the whole gathered tier thing before. My mom and I headed to the fabric store on Saturday to find some cute coordinating fabrics. We found some alright, but they were all $9.99 per yard. I needed a yard of each color, so suddenly I was looking at $40 for two dresses. Pretty sure I could hit up Gap and get some amazing dresses that I would not have to sew for that kind of cash.

And so, I ditched that plan and we headed to the bargain table where fabric was $2 per yard. Much more in my price range. They didn’t have four coordinating fabrics, but I found a bunch of madras plaid that I loved that will make super cute summer tops, and two prints that I fell in love with, that will coordinate perfectly for dresses. We hit the pattern books, found the patterns we needed and now I need to get sewing!

wpid-Camera-Effects-1358778314456.jpeg
wpid-Camera-Effects-1358778275507.jpeg


Leave a Reply

