The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

No Spend January

on January 1, 2013

The holidays have been a little crazy. I’m not sure what it was, if it was the combo of busy work + holidays, or if it was just the way the holidays fell right after the weekend, but I’m exhausted and feeling not organized at all. Considering work is only going to get busier, I’ve been trying to figure out how I can make our lives more efficient and happy (which I’d love to say is another post, but really is just going to be an ongoing dilemma for me).

As part of this, I really want to start 2013 off right. I’ve wanted to do a No Spend month before, but something has always gotten in the way. There was something to buy, an event that would require shopping, clothes to purchase. This time around there are no obstacles! Our wardrobes are stocked, our pantry is stocked, I just bought toothpaste and shampoo.

My goal is to not buy anything that isn’t essential. I’d like to bring my lunch at least four days a week, and eat out only minimally as a family. I’m also hoping to eat from our pantry as much as possible to keep our grocery costs low. I’m hoping this is freeing rather than stifling. I’ve already decided I’m not going to do birthday shirts for the girls this year. They’re expensive, I agonize over the design, and they wear them twice. Why? Instead I’ll find cute dresses just before our trip, something they can wear again this summer.

Will this be an every month thing? No. But I do feel like we all need an extreme break from buying Stuff. I’m overwhelmed with all of the presents from Christmas, as well as the girls greediness. I’m hoping this resets both our budget and our attitudes. Although truly, I’m hoping that at least a few of the habits we’ll build this month stick. There’s no reason I can’t bring my lunch to work more often, and the girls have more than enough clothes.


4 responses to “No Spend January

  1. Shannon says:

    Hi! I was looking for other bloggers doing a no spend month and landed here! I read small notebook too, I think that’s what originally put the idea in my mind. I figure January is about the easiest time to do this, lol. Anyway, good luck!
    Shannon

  2. […] it’s January 15, I thought I would give a little update on how my No Spend month is going. Overall? Not […]

  3. […] that ate up every single dime that was supposed to go into savings. January will once again be a No Spend Month, and 2014 overall will be a year of vacations that we can drive to. I still want to travel and show […]

  4. […] done No Spend Januarys for 3 years now? It’s a good financial reset after the spending during the holidays. At this point the […]

Leave a Reply

