The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

It always comes back to sleep

on November 29, 2012

This time of year is always rough for us. There are long stretches of time where the girls are home with me, combined with missing naps and late bedtimes due to holiday and family functions. It makes for kiddos that are attached to my hip, and clearly in need of sleep.

They show their overtired sides differently. Caden melts down over and over throughout the evening, everything pushing her over the edge to tears. Then she crawls into bed and it is lights out for her. Delaney holds it together, but then protests bedtime like I’m forcing her into child labor. “But I’m not tired!” I’ve heard that more than a few times!

A few weeks ago someone on the local multiples board mentioned that kids who aren’t getting enough sleep tend to be more clumsy. That really hit home with me, so I’ve been doing what I can to ensure they get their 10-12 hours each day. Last night they went to bed at 7:00pm and I didn’t hear a peep out of their room, letting me know it’s definitely the right thing. It’s hard because I want to spend time with them in the evenings, rather than send them to bed early, but hopefully this will be a short season for us.


One response to “It always comes back to sleep

  1. […] was treating Delaney’s sleep deficit and Caden’s scary dreams as two separate things, when really they were very much tied […]

Leave a Reply

