The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

I laughed, yes I did

on November 21, 2012

Ask Moxie is a parenting advice blog that I frequented a lot when the girls were younger. She introduced me to equilibrium and disequilibrium, as well as so many other concepts. Now that the girls are older I only check it occasionally. The other night I was reading through it and laughed out loud when I got to this post: 4.5 year-old children are bananas. To quote from one of the letter writers If I didn’t know better, I’d swear he was PMSing something fierce. The smallest things make him lose it.

Hmmmm. I have no idea what you’re talking about!! I knew this stage was developmental, but I think I thought we were unique because of the girls being preemies. Not so much!

I love her advice –

They’re not doing it on purpose. And there isn’t much you can do except wait for them to swing back toward equilibrium. I do feel like a lot of kids go through one last hurrah of being babies at age 4 3/4 in which they’re clingy and vicious and particularly difficult, and that they tend to release to move into big-kid-ness right after they turn 5. So it’s all just time.

It definitely puts Delaney’s baby voice in a different perspective, as well as Caden’s mean streak (she’s been very hitty lately, although only directed at her sister). My niece’s 5th birthday is coming up in a few weeks, so my SIL and I are in a similar parenting place and we commiserated last weekend. She’s getting close to the upswing, we’re still a few months out.

Even with this craziness, I still love age 4. LOVE IT. I’m a little nervous about age 5. Four has set the bar pretty high, can five surpass it?


One response to “I laughed, yes I did

  1. Laura Case says:

    Four is pretty awesome. Five was pretty good.

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

Leave a Reply

