The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

And now the dining room

on November 20, 2012

I’m off this week. I love taking off the week of Thanksgiving, it gets me ready for the holidays. Normally I get some shopping in, and get the house organized. This time I’m skipping the shopping and just organizing the house. The red dining room was still hanging over my head. With the yellow paint cans staring at me every time I did laundry, I was feeling guilty for not getting it painted.

When I mapped out my week and what I wanted to get done each day, I put down ‘Paint’ for Monday. I even told the girls and they were so excited for the change! Good thing I did that because after I ran errands Monday morning, I did not want to paint, but I also didn’t want to explain to the girls why the dining room was still red. So I knocked it out. An hour to prep, an hour to prime, and 45 minutes to do the second coat.

I love it (it’s Compatible Cream), but it’s a little weird how the entire vibe of my house has changed in the last year. I went from jewel tones on all of my walls, to sunny pastel colors. WTH?! It’s been a good change though, a necessary change. Delaney is now asking to paint her room, and I fear the grey/watermelon/turquoise color scheme I have been planning for the next room redo is in serious jeopardy.

Here we go. Before. This was probably the second room I painted when I moved in? The walls were wallpapered in ‘country neutral’. Stripped pattern on the bottom, chair rail, and flowers on the top. It was lovely. I ripped it down within minutes. We painted it with a roller that is split, so you put two different colors in the paint pan and then they mix as you paint. What a fancy paint treatment, right? We did red and gold. It was gorgeous, but if you looked closely you could tell we didn’t put down a base coat, so it was thin in a lot of areas. It was also dark, which I thought made it cozy, but my mother disagreed.

And the after. Much brighter! The true color is more to the bottom. I couldn’t wait for better light, so this was the best I could get this morning. I was hoping to get the pictures and curtains hung up today, but I don’t think that’s going to happen until the weekend.

Next up, I’m cleaning out my Christmas decorations and hauling the old ones to Goodwill. It’s the season of Simplifying!


4 responses to “And now the dining room

  1. Kathy says:

    What a difference, I love it!

  2. Scott says:

    Much better, of course my walls are a similar yellow, so I am biased.

  3. Sue says:

    Really love the color, Erin…. good choice!

  4. Angie says:

    Love it! I’m also in a totally “simplify” mood this fall/winter too – good for you & good luck purging the old stuff!!

Leave a Reply

