The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Having it all

on August 9, 2012

Last night I was checking out a few sewing blogs. I don’t read this woman’s blog often, I’m more of a MADE girl, but I stop by occasionally. She mentioned having trouble balancing the blog and family and work and said she didn’t know any other bloggers who have full time jobs. My first thought was – SERIOUSLY? But truly, most of the bloggers in that space are stay at home moms.

I read a lot of blogs.  They all give me something.  Recipe ideas, strength to stay on the smart money track, crafty ideas, kid ideas.  But when you take in the whole picture you can feel overwhelmed and under performing.

If I could have it all I’d be sewing fabulous outfits for my kids, making homemade almond milk, decorating to the nines for every holiday, and taking my children on adventures every day. And sometimes I feel like every blog I read is a mom who is doing just that.

But I work. So I can’t. And honestly, there was something very freeing in realizing that everyone else (sweeping generalization yes I realize) is able to do it because they don’t work!

Unfortunately, I can’t do it all so I need to prioritize.  Will I be making themed wreaths for every holiday season?  No.  But make homemade food for my family? I can do that. Not everything, but the things we eat a lot, I can do. And sew some cute tunics for Laney so she has shirts that fit? I can do that.  Sew the tutu’s for the Halloween costumes?  I think we’ll be asking Grammy to do those.


5 responses to “Having it all

  1. LauraC says:

    YES. I don’t do a lot of crafting or super complex homemade meals because I have a job. And I’m fine with that. I need quality time with my kids, and all that crafting gets in the way. What will the kids remember? TIME you spent with them.

  2. Grammy says:

    You are an amazing Mom – no ifs, ands or buts! And your blog keeps me connected to those two special little girls.

  3. Jill says:

    I always have to remind myself that I can’t compare my every day life to another person’s highlight reel. We do what we can and make the most of whatever that is- you are a great mom and it shines through in those two lovely girls!

  4. Carrie says:

    I’m a teacher with the summer off, so I do a lot more blogging and crafting in these 8-10 weeks than I can the rest of the time. Around this time every summer I wish I could do more of the crafting and homemaking that stay at home moms bloggers manage year round. I earmarked a few holiday ideas that I’m hoping will be doable and will help me fulfill that longing. But yeah, we can only prioritize and do what we can do, and you appear to be doing plenty!

  5. […] I’ve talked before about narrowing my focus and realizing I don’t have to do everything. As I continue to slog through that journey, go deep kept coming back to me. I love photography, but I’m not making an effort to go deep. I love sewing, but I’m fumbling around most of the time. I want to go deep! I want to stop being jack of all trades, master of none. […]

Leave a Reply

