The Munchkins

Life with identical twins

Bake Day 2013!

on December 10, 2013

It was time to do some holiday baking with the family again. This is an annual tradition for our family that everyone looks forward to. It’s always a crazy day, but it’s so much fun! This year we did 17 recipes! We started baking around 10:30am and finished by 5:00pm with only a break to craft. I think everything but my toffee turned out delicious (I made so many mistakes, let’s not get into it).

bake 2

This year my recipes were all early in the day which was good, because the caffeine from my latte was still running strong. I faded late in the day, but made myself useful by playing bartender.

bake 1

The girls love to help, so my mom had all sorts of jobs for them. My mom and I both planned gluten free recipes so that Caden and I would have treats that we could eat. This was the first year that I didn’t try any of the gluten treats! Kind of a big milestone for me, normally I cannot resist the sugary holiday goodness.

bake 3

These rocky road cookies turned out very good. They are *really* sweet though, so keep that in mind. I doubled the recipe which worked out well, but I only added one bag of chocolate chips and that was MORE than enough. In fact next time, I would maybe even cut back further.

My mom did some rice krispie treats cut out with cookie shapes, as well as Monster cookies. I’m a huge fan of these monster cookies! So tasty, and you don’t feel like you’re missing the gluten like you do with some cookies.

bake 5

Here’s our final spread! Delaney’s job was to put the numbers into the little holders, and then put numbers next to each entry. She took her job so seriously and got very serious every time someone brought something out to the table. I died.

Everyone brought their A game this year and it showed! The craft was amazing, the cookies were amazing, and I have seriously so many gluten free options I am one HAPPY holiday girl. In case you’re wondering which treat won for yummiest, that would be my peanut butter cups! Two time Yummy Champions! I make these every year. They are easy and beyond tasty.

Peanut Butter Cups
1 cup creamy peanut butter
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 package almond bark
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

Mix 1 cup peanut butter, the powdered sugar and vanilla together. Roll into balls (about 1 tsp each) and place into the tiny paper muffin cups. Melt the almond bark and peanut butter together. Drizzle over the peanut butter balls. Make sure to really cover the peanut butter balls well! Place them outside to freeze and enjoy!


2 responses to “Bake Day 2013!

  1. Amanda says:

    I want a list of all the treats! But I’m definitely going to try the rocky road and peanut butter cups.

  2. ceseeber says:

    oh my gosh, I swear I can smell the yummy goodness through my computer screen. Job well done, I’m super impressed!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

